Board of Directors

The Empowerment Academy Board of Directors is a working board that strives to provide safe, long-term housing for teens who live and go to school anywhere in Daviess County, Kentucky.

If you have questions about the Empowerment Academy, please contact a Board member via email below.


David Danhauer M.D.

David Danhauer, M.D. – Chair

Dr. David Danhauer was a practicing pediatrician and the managing partner of an eight physician group for 27 years prior to becoming the Chief Medical Information Officer (CMIO)/ System VP at Owensboro Health. He gained valuable leadership skills as chairman of many physician committees and as an Owensboro Health hospital board member. His family roots in Owensboro and love of pediatrics affords him a great insight into the needs of local children including the adolescent homeless situation.




Heather McCarty

Heather McCarty  – Vice Chair

Heather McCarty is an Owensboro native. She has a degree in social work from Western Kentucky University and has worked for Daviess County Public Schools with the Family Resource and Youth Service Centers for 12 years. Heather wants to make a difference in the lives of local children and help them become successful members of our community. She brings her knowledge and experience working with homeless students to help address the issue of homeless teens.




Vicki Quisenberry

Vicki Quisenberry – Secretary

Vicki Quisenberry is one of the founding members of the Empowerment Academy and continues to drive the effort to end adolescent homelessness in Owensboro. She serves as Executive Director of the Foundation for Daviess County Public Schools where she has collaborated with the local community to create several impactful programs including Kids on Campus, Exploration Station, First Generations Scholars, Focus Awards and others. She is an Elder, serves as Chair Elect of the Board and Chair of the Personnel Committee at First Christian Church.




Mike Ballard – Property Committee Co-Chair

Mike Ballard is a local builder and long-time advocate for the prevention of homelessness of all types. He brings a wealth of experience with site selection, building design, construction and maintenance to the Empowerment Academy.


David Boswell – Immediate Past Chair

David E. Boswell, Sr., is a retired legislator who served five years in the Kentucky House of Representatives, four years as Kentucky Department of Agriculture Commissioner, and 20 years as a Kentucky State Senator. He is an active community volunteer and involved grandparent.


Beck Glenn – Marketing and Public Relations Committee Chair

Beck Glenn worked in media, marketing and public relations for more than 25 years before changing her career focus to assist teens in transitioning from high school to their next phase of life. Through a partnership with the Kentucky Department of Vocational Rehabilitation, she provides counseling on post-secondary enrollment options, career exploration, workplace readiness training, self-advocacy instruction and other services to qualified high school students.


Tpr. Corey King

Corey King

Master Trooper Corey King is a 19-year veteran with the Kentucky State Police and is assigned to Post 16 – Henderson. Trooper King moved to Owensboro in 2000 and patrolled McLean, Ohio and Daviess Counties. During his career as a Trooper, he has served as a Field Training Officer, Defensive Tactics Instructor, Collision Reconstructionist, as a Child Passenger Restraint Technician, and was appointed to his current role as Post 16’s Public Affairs Officer in 2009. Trooper King was named the Kentucky State Police Public Affairs Officer of the Year in 2018. Trooper King is the chair of various committees involving organizations such as Green River Regional TRIAD and Trooper Island Camp.



Scott Miller

Scott Miller – Personnel Committee Chair

Scott Miller currently serves as Chief Operations Officer for 4C of Southern Indiana. Prior to joining 4C he worked in various executive management positions at other non-profit agencies, GRADD and with former U.S. Representative Ron Lewis.  In addition to the Empowerment Academy board, Scott is also member of the Owensboro Civil Service Commission, Daviess County Rotary and a member of SWIRCA & More’s board of directors.

Scott holds a Master of Public Administration degree from Murray State University.




Jay Velotta

Jay Velotta – Property Committee Co-Chair

Jay Velotta is a real estate professional with expertise in the areas of residential real estate sales and marketing, Commercial real estate development, property management and leasing services. Throughout his real estate career, Jay has also served the community as a local radio and television broadcaster and as an elected Commissioner for the City of Owensboro. He brings his knowledge of the community and his expertise in property development and management to assist the mission of the Empowerment Academy.